Lid down, log off and talk?

I saw this article posted on Twitter. via @coffeeCulnaria

I wonder what would happen if we did this in the uk?!

//http://ow.ly/15eQG

Lee

~ by Lee Wardle on February 9, 2010.

4 Responses to “Lid down, log off and talk?”

  1. Great article, thanks Lee.

    It’s so true… with wireless access everywhere nowadays, it’s super easy to just log on, sip coffee all day, and not actually ‘communicate’ with anyone.

    We as a human race are slowly but surely losing the art of simple conversation… if it’s not already lost!

    As my wife and I both work/write online, we actually have to force ourselves to have whole days off from our laptops. With twitter updates every hour, rss feeds, facebook updates, skype contacts… the world just never stops talking. So we make Saturdays a ‘computer free day’.

    I love the quote – “We need to instate our own Internet Sabbath.”

    Amazing how much more you can get done in a day when you are continually sidetracked by all that other media.

    I’m getting more and more fond of writing my articles in Mac’s ‘JDarkroom’ for the pure simplicity of it. Nothing to side track you, just pure writing freedom!

  2. I often go into coffee houses to work; I think if some guy tried to get me to turn of my lappy I’d invoice the bastard! But seriously, who lugs a laptop around with them just to use social networking?? Haven’t these people heard of smartphones?

  3. As Britons we tend not to talk to each other anyway! Greeting customers often tends to generate scared looks! I think I would be quite taken aback If i was asked to turn off my lappy or put away my ipod and probably have m coffee to go! I understand the idea though and of course he made the news so it did it’s job!

  4. I often hold meetings in cafes and usually engage with the Baristas and often customers (always offering for them to share a table when it starts to get busy)

    I think you’d lose customers with a lid town or leave policy if this was enforced during working hours, but on the weekend I tend to agree with this approach.

    Weekends for most are about family time, hanging out with friends or meeting people. Some casual customers might be offended by the presence of laptops, creating a sense of business in their ‘me time’

Leave a Reply

 
